Kenny Burrell: Midnight Blue (Vinyl 180g)


1 LP 

Jazz Μουσική 

Blue Note


8 Σεπτεμβρίου 2021


Ερώτηση για το προϊόν / Product Inquiry




Kenny Burrell (Guitar)

Stanley Turrentine (Saxophone), Major Holley Jr. (Double Bass), Bill English (Drums), Ray Barretto (congas)


  1. Side A: Chitlins Con Carne
  2. Mule
  3. Soul Lament
  4. Side B: Midnight Blue
  5. Wavy Gravy
  6. Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You
  7. Saturday Night Blues

Midnight Blue from 1963 is considered one of the most exciting recordings of Kenny Burrell’s long and impressive career. With Stanley Turrentine’s saxophone infusing every note with a heady excess of soul and Ray Barretto’s congas adding a Latin tinge to the blues-oriented music, Burrell heats things up and is heard at his most exciting and extroverted. His soulful playing on songs like “Chitlins Con Carne,” “Saturday Night Blues” and “Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You” is so emotional and shows why both B.B. King and Duke Ellington often named Kenny Burrell as their favorite guitarist. This superbly recorded classic belongs in every jazz collection

Guitarist Kenny Burrell debuted on Blue Note Records in 1956 and recorded a series of outstanding albums for the label over the next seven years, culminating in his masterpiece “Midnight Blue.”

Recorded in 1963, the album wades deep into the blues and conjures a seductive late-night mood with a deeply soulful cast that includes tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine, bassist Major Holley, Jr, drummer Bill English and Ray Barretto on congas.

Burrell originals like “Chitlins con Carne,” “Midnight Blue,” “Saturday Night Blues,” and the stunning solo guitar piece “Soul Lament” set the tone for this timeless classic, graced by one of the greatest Reid Miles cover designs of all time.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all analogue, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Επιπρόσθετες Πληροφορίες

Βάρος 2 g