The Royal Ballet: The Cellist / Dances at a Gathering


1 Blu-Ray

Κλασική Μουσική

Opus Arte

Νέο!22 Φεβρουαρίου 2021Ερώτηση για το προϊόν




Laura Morera (Dancer), Marianela Nunez (Dancer), Federico Bonelli (Dancer), Francesca Hayward (Dancer), Alexander Campbell (Dancer), Valentino Zucchetti (Dancer)

Jerome Robbins (Choreographer), Cathy Marston (Choreographer)

The Royal Ballet

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House
Andrea Molino (Conductor)

Internationally acclaimed choreographer Cathy Marston, previously Associate Artist of The Royal Ballet and Director of Bern Ballett, created The Cellist for The Royal Ballet in 2020. The inspiration for her first work for the Royal Opera House Main Stage is the momentous life and career of cellist Jacqueline du Pré – from her discovery of the cello and her celebrity as one of its most extraordinary players, to her pain, frustration and struggle with multiple sclerosis. Composer Philip Feeney incorporates some of the most moving and powerful music for cello by Elgar, Beethoven, Fauré, Mendelssohn, Piatti, Rachmaninoff and Schubert into an exquisite score that is itself an homage to the cello.

Jerome Robbins’ elegant and elegiac classic, Dances at a Gathering, is the other work in the programme.’ pure dance for five couples, set to music by Chopin, is a masterpiece of subtlety and invention.