Wind Quintets – York Bowen, Susan Spain-Dun, Gordon Jacob, Karl Jenkins, J B McEwen & Holst



Κλασική Μουσική 



Νέο!22 Νοεμβρίου 2022

Σε απόθεμα

Ερώτηση για το προϊόν / Product Inquiry



Gustav Theodore Holst

Wind Quintet in A flat, Op. 14

Edwin York Bowen



Miniature Suite, Op. 113

Susan Spain-Dunk

Rhapsody Quintet

Gordon Jacob

Swansea Town

Karl Jenkins


John Blackwood McEwen

Northern Skies


Camarilla Ensemble

The Camarilla Ensemble is an award-winning wind quintet known for its lively and distinctive performances and has firmly established itself on the British music scene since its formation in 2001. During a two-year fellowship, the ensemble conducted extensive research on undiscovered British wind quintets by J. B. McEwen, Susan Spain-Dunk, Gordon Jacob, and Edwin York Bowen. The five musicians were founding members of the Symphony Orchestra of India, the first professional classical symphony orchestra in India, in 2006.

It is quite a satisfying range: Karl Jenkins’s Chums!, the sole 21st-century piece, is a lively and inventive romp, while Susan Spain-Dunk’s Rhapsody Quintet of 1920 is mostly marked ‘espressivo’ and spreads out into languid nods towards inf luences from across the Channel…All the works are played with finesse, excellent balance and a great feel for atmosphere and characterisation by the Camarilla Ensemble. — BBC Music Magazine, October 2022, 4 out of 5 stars