J. S. Bach: Die Kunst der Fuge – Masaaki Suzuki (harpsichord)



Κλασική Μουσική 



Νέο!10 Μαΐου 2024

Σε απόθεμα

Ερώτηση για το προϊόν



Johann Sebastian Bach:The Art of Fugue, BWV1080 (Die Kunst der Fuge)Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV668a


Masaaki Suzuki (Harpsichord)

The Art of Fugue emerges as the central instrumental project of the last decade of Bach’s life, after a gradual development over several years: the exploration in depth and with an overflowing musical imagination of the contrapuntal possibilities inherent in a single musical subject. In this work, the theoretical component of Bach’s thinking is at its clearest: theory and practice merge, old and new stylistic elements and compositional techniques are integrated and demonstrate in an incomparable way his individual approach to composition. Since Bach gave no indication of the instrument, nor does his writing shed any further light on the subject, one might even wonder whether this work is a purely theoretical work, intended solely for musical analysis. However, since the composer’s rediscovery in the nineteenth century, musicians have appropriated the work, whatever their instrument. It is now generally accepted that the work was composed for the keyboard. A second harpsichord part is added for three fugues, played here by Masato Suzuki. After several acclaimed recordings of Bach’s works for keyboard instruments, Masaaki Suzuki finally takes on this immense work, the pinnacle of the cantor’s art and one of the absolute peaks of Western music.


Gramophone Magazine May 2024

“If, as is often said, Bach saw fugue as simply the most natural medium for composing beautiful music, Suzuki demonstrates that it is also good for the exciting, the playful, the sombre, and perhaps any other feeling that might come up.