Jóhann Jóhannsson: Orphée


1 CD 

Κλασική Μουσική 

Deutsche Grammophon

10 Μαΐου 2024


Ερώτηση για το προϊόν




Hildur Guðnadóttir (Cello)Jóhann Johannsson (Electric Organs,Electronics,Piano,Pipe Organ)
American Contemporary Music ensemble (Ensemble)


  1. Flight From The City
  2. A Song For Europa
  3. The Drowned World
  4. A Deal With Chaos
  5. A Pile Of Dust
  6. A Sparrow Alighted Upon Our Shoulder
  7. Fragment I
  8. By The Roes, And By The Hinds Of The Field
  9. The Radiant City
  10. Fragment II
  11. The Burning Mountain
  12. De Luce Et Umbra
  13. Good Morning, Midnight
  14. Good Night, Day
  15. Orphic Hymn

Composer Jóhann Jóhannsson, Golden Globe winner as well as Oscar, BAFTA and Grammy nominee, releases his first album for Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft: it is a meditation on beauty and the artistic creative process. Jóhannsson is a figurehead in a dynamically growing scene of composers who move freely and imaginatively between film music, classical minimalism, ambient and electronic music

Orphée depicts a journey from darkness into light, inspired by the various versions of the ancient myth of Orpheus, from Ovid to Cocteau. The multi-layered tale of death, rebirth, change, and the ephemerality of memory can also be interpreted as a metaphor for artistic creativity

Orphée offers a versatile sound palette: there are acoustic instruments solo or combined in an ensemble with electronics and the mysterious sounds of the “number stations” on shortwave. It borrows from many facets of his previous works and incorporates music for solo cello, organ, string quartet, string orchestra and a cappella singing.