W. A. Mozart: Le Nozze Di Figaro – Orchestra Teatro Real Madrid & Jesus Lopez Cobos


1 Blu-Ray 

Classical Music 

Teatro Real

6 June 2023

In stock

Product Enquiry



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:Le nozze di Figaro, K492 (The Marriage of Figaro)


María Isabel Rey Castelló (Soprano)Barbara Frittoli (Soprano)Jeannette Fischer (Sopranist)Luca Pisaroni (Bass-Baritone)Ludovic Tézier (Baritone)
Orchestra of the Teatro Real – Madrid (Orchestra)Jesús López-Cobos (Conductor)
Emilio Sagi (Director)

Emilio Sagi’s classic and highly successful production perfectly captures the elegant wit and theatrical moment in Mozart’s cheerful masterpiece from the first note of the overture to the final curtain. It is about – as so often in life – the relationship between men and women. That alone would provide enough material. But through the numerous errors and confusions, which arise especially through the different social classes of the protagonists, the work develops a fulminant and propulsive mixture of passion, humor, drama and suspense. For all its wit, Mozart’s opera in this production from the Teatro Real de Madrid remains a profound and timeless story about love, deceit and forgiveness.


“An incontestable success full of Sevillian atmosphere. (Tézier) is in exceptional vocal shape and the role suits him perfectly.” –Music Web International

‘Very fine singing from Ludovic Tézier, Marina Comparato, Raúl Giménez and Soledad Cardosa…This complete version does contains all the arias for the minor characters…and it restores the 11 bars usually omitted form the duet, ‘Aprite, presto aprite’.’ **** –BBC Music Magazine, August 2012, Anthony Pryer

‘This is Mediterranean Mozart, bigger in sound, more emotionally extravagant in manner and somewhat less refined on nearly every level…In the best moments, all of these elements conspire in ways that allow you to enter the looking glass…The loneliness of the Countess so powerfully projected by Barbara Frittoli, becomes so contagious that you feel how torn she must be when resisting Cherubino’. –Gramophone, July 2012, David Patrick Stearns